Baxter announces 24-man squad for Seychelles qualifiers


JOHANNESBURG, October 1 – Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 24-man squad to face Seychelles in back-to-back 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The first match will be hosted by South Africa and will be the played at the FNB Stadium on October 13.

The return leg will be away in Seychelles, on  October 16 at Stade Linite, in the capital Victoria.

The two nations have only met once; in 2005 in the Cosafa Cup tournament in Mauritius where Bafana Bafana ran out 3-0 victors.

Baxter has kept the bulk of the squad that played to a goalless draw against Libya last month in Durban.

But Bafana will be without the services of midfielders Keagan Dolly and Bongani Zungu, who are both injured.

Zungu also missed the clash against Libya.

The Africa Cup of Nations tournament will be played from June 7 to 30.

Cameroon are the defending champions and will be hosting for the first time since 1972.

South Africa’s penultimate 2019 Afcon qualifier will be a home match against Nigeria on November 17 at the FNB Stadium, with the last one scheduled for March 2019 away to Libya.

Bafana squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SS Utd), Darren Keet (Wits).

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha, Thapelo Morena (Downs), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg), Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkwanazi, S’Fiso Hlanti (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates)

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SS Utd), Lebogang Maboe, Hlompho Kekana, Sibusiso Vilakazi (Downs), Thabo Nodada (CT City), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford), Vincent Pule (Pirates)

Strikers: Lebogang Phiri (Guingamp, France), Dino Ndlovu (Hangzhou, China), Percy Tau (Royal Union, Belgium), Lebo Mothiba (Racing Strasbourg, France), Phakamani  Mahlambi (Downs). (ANA)