SABC announces chairpersons for Commissions of Inquiry


JOHANNESBURG, June 20 – The South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) on Wednesday announced the chairpersons of the recently established high-level Commissions of Inquiry into editorial interference and sexual harassment.

Acting group chief officer, Nomsa Philiso said that Dr. Joe Thloloe will chair the inquiry relating to editorial interference in the newsroom and Barbara Watson will chair the sexual harassment inquiry.

“We are confident that Dr. Thloloe and Ms. Watson will assist the corporation to restore its credibility and reaffirm its rightful position as a leading public service broadcaster which reflects good governance and ethical practices that serves as an inspiration to its employees and stakeholders,” said Philiso.

Philiso said the announcement of these two highly respected professionals was in line with the SABC’s commitment to ensuring proper corporate governance, good values, and sound business ethics.

Thloloe and Watson each bring a wealth of experience and expertise to the commissions of inquiry that they are tasked to chair, respectively. Thloloe served as the South African Press Ombudsman while Watson is a qualified Social Worker with experience that spans over 40 years.

“The SABC would like to extend its gratitude to all its stakeholders for heeding the call and the contribution that has been made to the commissions of inquiry.  We appeal once more to all individuals to make their submissions by Friday,” said Philiso.

– African News Agency (ANA)