NCOP Chair Amos Masondo designated to Pan African Parliament


JOHANNESBURG, October 8 – The National Council of Provinces (NCOP) Chairperson Amos Masondo was among five south African MPs sworn in at the opening ceremony of the 3rd Ordinary Session of the fifth Parliament of the Pan African Parliament (PAP) on Monday.

The PAP, which sits in Midrand, is running the current session from 7 to 19 October.

In a statement SA’s Parliament said it nominated five MPs Masondo, Pemmy Majodina (National Assembly chief whip), Dr Mathole Motshekga (African National Congress), Thembekile Majola (Democratic Alliance) and Julius Malema (leader of the Economic Freedom Fighters) to represent it at the ongoing PAP.

The SA parliamentarians were designated by the Southern Africa Regional Caucus to serve on various PAP committees.

Masondo was designated to the committee on trade, customs and immigration matters; Majodina is on the committee on gender, family, youth and people with disability; Malema joins the committee on audit and public accounts; Dr Motshekga is with the committee on justice and human rights; while Majola now sits on the committee on rules, privileges and discipline.

This 3rd Ordinary Session – taking place at the PAP headquarters in Midrand – is being held under the African Union theme of 2019: “Refugees, Returnees and Internally Displaced Persons: Towards durable Solutions to Forced Displacement in Africa”.

On Tuesday the session will debate, among other issues, the activity report of the PAP.

– African News Agency (ANA)