Cyril Ramaphosa is new ANC president

Karabo Ngoepe 
JOHANNESBURG- Cyril Ramaphosa has been elected the new President of the African National Congress.
He pipped Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma to the position following a recount of the votes allegedly at the request of Nomvula Mokonyana.
Ramaphosa won the race with 2441 and Dlamini-Zuma could only manage 2261 votes.
Deputy President, David Mabuza got 2538 votes and Lindiwe Sisulu got 2195 votes. Mabuza was on Dlamini-Zuma’s slate for the position.
For the position of national chairperson, Gwede Mantashe received 2418 and Nathi Mthethwa got 2269. He was on Ramaphosa’s slate.
The Secretary-General position was won by Ace Magashule with 2360 beating Senzo Mchunu who got 2336. Magashule was on Dlamini-Zuma’s slate.
Deputy secretary-general position went to Jessie Duarte with 2475 beating Zingiswa Losi who got 2213 votes. It was another position for Dlamini-Zuma’s slate in the top six.
Treasurer-general went the way of Paul Mashatile with 2517 votes compared to Maite Nkoana-Mashabane’s 2178 votes.
The top six is a mixture of both slates with three from each side.