Back-to-back Dubai titles for Blitzbokke, win final 24-12 against NZ


CAPE TOWN, December 2 (ANA) – South Africa’s Blitzbokke claimed back-to-back Dubai titles after they defeated New Zealand 24-12 in the final of the season’s opening HSBC Sevens World Series tournament on Saturday afternoon.
South Africa took full advantage of an early New Zealand yellow card (Joseava Rovouvou was sin-binned) and Philip Snyman, Seabelo Senatla and Kwagga Smith scored tries. Branco du Preez added two conversions to give South Africa a commanding 19-0 halftime lead.
In the second half, SA’s dangerman Rosko Specman was yellow-carded and New Zealand capitalised through Andrew Knewstubb and Scott Curry tries. Knewstubb managed one conversion (19-12).
In the dying minutes, Tim Agaba won a line-out ball and after a powerful drive by Smith, Agaba regained the possession and produced a powerful surge to dot down the side’s final try, which went unconverted (24-12).
The HSBC Sevens World Series moves on next week to Cape Town where England were crowned champions last season.
Scorers: Blitzbokke: Tries: Phillip Snyman, Seabelo Senatla, Kwagga Smith, Tim Agaba. Conversions: Branco du Preez (2)
New Zealand: Tries: Andrew Knewstubb, Scott Curry. Conversion: Knewstubb

African News Agency (ANA),